The PGA Tour is wide open and ripe for the taking.

What we know:

In 17 tournaments this year, 16 different players have won (excluding the Tavistock Cup, of course). Only Mark Wilson has won twice, at the Sony Open in Hawaii (Jan. 13-16) and Waste Management Phoenix Open (Feb. 3-6) respectively.

Jonathan Byrd, Wilson (x2), Jhonattan Vegas, Bubba Watson, D.A. Points, Aaron Baddeley, Johnson Wagner, Luke Donald, Rory Sabbatini, Michael Bradley, Nick Watney, Gary Woodland, Martin Laird, Phil Mickelson, CHarl Schwartzel and Brendan Steele have won PGA Tour tournaments in 2011.

What's staggering is how players are finishing in the next tournament played after winning:

Jonathan Byrd - 34
Wilson - 61, C
Jhonattan Vegas - 3
Bubba Watson - 29
D.A. Points - C
Aaron Baddeley - C
Johnson Wagner - C
Luke Donald - 10
Rory Sabbatini - 28
Michael Bradley - C
Nick Watney - 13
Gary Woodland - C
Martin Laird - 20
Phil Mickelson - 27
Charl Schwartzel - NA
Brendan Steele - NA

Six players have missed the cut following a win. The only players to make the Top 10 after a win are Jhonattan Vegas and Luke Donald. Watney and Laird round out players to finish in the Top 20, and that leaves five players who finished outside the Top 20.

Think about that. Of the 16 winners this year, 11 were either cut or finished outside the Top 20 in the next tournament.

Carrying winning momentum from one tournament to the next is basically non-existent so far in the 2011 season. That certainly can change, but it brings an even greater task upon those of us who try to figure out who might win week after week.

In the tournaments played in which the 2011 winning players have made the cut, all have an average finish of 40 or below. This year, the field has had an average of 67 players. The 2011 winners have a combined average finish of 22nd.

In a year where you'd have had the best chance of picking a winner by just pulling a name out of a hat, it all kind of makes sense.

It's not an aboration to have only one repeat winner in the past five years, but it's definitely worth noting. Tiger Woods won three of the first 17 tournaments in 2007, but other than that, there hasn't been a year in which only one player has won twice.

Call it the state of the PGA Tour in 2011 and something to keep an eye on as the year unfolds.